26 C
Thursday, April 18, 2024

Sailing Club presentation night

Must read

THE WHITSUNDAY Sailing Club held its annual presentation night, on Friday, December 9.

The members enjoyed a sit-down meal as the 2022 awards were announced, while local artist Sam McCann played live music.

The Whitsunday Sailing Club staff organised the delicious food directly through their chef Dean Atkin.

Sailing Club President Terry Archer said he was thrilled with the efforts of everyone involved.

“It was fantastic to see our members enjoying a great night to celebrate their efforts throughout the year. The response from the crews was awesome and the food and service was excellent,” Mr Archer said.

Master of Ceremonies Ross Chisholm began the evening discussing the club’s achievements over the year.

“Airlie Beach Race Week was a huge success, with a record number of 188 entries. Congratulations to those who participated,” Mr Chisholm said.

“It’s great to see an enthusiastic group of sailors moving into classes such as A Class Catamarans and, recently, the addition of the cruising dinghy group with their mirrors.”

Some outstanding junior awards were announced with Laura Oates winning Best First Season, Connor Harris winning Most Improved Junior, Jesse Frisch winning Junior Sportsperson and Joshua King winning Junior Club Champion.     

Karen Evans was the 2022 Lady Skippers winner on her boat Norbert G.

The Division Two winner of the Challengers Cup was Rob Davis on Treasure VIII, the Division three and overall winner was Craig Piccinelli, on Wobbly Boot.

Terry Archer was the Division One winner for the Summer Series, Craig Piccinelli the Division Three winner, and the Division two and overall winner was Charles Wallis, on Reignition 

The Division Three winner for the Winter Series was Greg Hammon, on Rossgo, and the Division Two and overall winner was       Charles Wallis.

Greg Hammon was also the Division Three winner for the Great Northern Series (Large Cup) and the Division Two and overall winner was Rob Davis, on Treasure VIII.

The Division Three winner for the Club Championship was Craig Piccinelli and the Division Two and overall winner was Charles Wallis, who was awarded the Frank Aarts Trophy.

Several people were recognised for their efforts in the Twilight Series, and three trophies donated by Harold Menelaus were awarded.

The Division one winner was Terry Archer, The Division Two winners were Rob Davis, Charles Wallis, and John Galloway with his boat QMS Ponyo. The Division Three winners were John Cable on Shiraz, Di Forster on Lighthorse and Tom Vujasinovic on Masquerade.

The Division One winner of the Off-Shore series was Terry Archer, Division Three winner was Kate Warren on Alabaster, and the Division Two and overall winner was Charles Wallis.

The Best Performed Trailable Boat was awarded to Greg Hammon.

More photos at www.facebook/whitsundaynews.

- Advertisement -spot_img

More articles

- Advertisement -spot_img

Partner of the week

broken clouds
28.5 ° C
28.5 °
28.5 °
49 %
67 %
27 °
28 °
29 °
25 °
27 °

Live Webcam


To be updated with all the latest news, offers and special announcements.